Turner, Boggs named SEKC’s best for season

Published 12:15 pm Friday, April 13, 2018

Two 51st District guards shared the honor as player of the year in the Southeastern Kentucky Conference as Knox Central Markelle Turner won the award for 3A-5A schools and Lynn Camp’s Tanner Boggs won the award for A/2A schools.

Knox Central’s Tony Patterson and Lynn Camp’s Dinky Phipps were winners for coach of the year in the SEKC.

Members of the all-conference team are:

Email newsletter signup

Harlan County — Alex Pace and Andrew Creech

Harlan — Kilian Ledford and Jacob Wilson

Knox Central — Jaylen Adams, Nick Martin, Dane Imel, Kevionte Turner and Jermel Carton.

Lynn Camp — Josh Overbay, Scott Overbay, Max Burd, Jacob Bundy and Jacob Balew

Clay County — Ryan Rogers and Jacob Curry

Corbin — Andrew Taylor and Chandler Stewart

Middlesboro — Drake Thomas, Christian Hubbard and Jabari Kyle

Pineville — Josh Lawson and Ben Goodin

Williamsburg — Caleb Rose, Slaht Hunter, Jeremie Purdie and Stohn Hunter.


Honorable mention

Harlan County — Tyrese Simmons and Drew Nolan

Harlan — Jordan Akal and Cade Barnes

Bell County — Trey Brock and Ryan Lambdin

Corbin — Chase Sanders and Matthew Taylor

Clay County — Connor Robinson

Knox Central — Dalton Elliott and Zachary Patterson

Middlesboro – Mykel Griffin and T.J. Patterson

Williamsburg —Hunter Brown and Toby Cunningham