South’s Cromer leads all-region team

Published 7:22 pm Tuesday, March 17, 2020

A four-year starter at guard for South Laurel, Matt Cromer helped the Cardinals with 101 games over the past four seasons, including a 28-5 mark this season. Cromer averaged 24.7 points per game this season to earn the 13th Region Coaches Association Player of the Year award. South Laurel’s Jeff Davis was named coach of the year after leading the Cardinals to a 28-5 mark this season.

Three players from the 52nd District were included on the first team, led by Harlan sophomore guard Jordan Akal, who averaged 25.8 points per game in leading the Dragons to the 13th Region All “A” Classic title. Harlan County senior Taylor Spurlock averaged 17.4 points and 6.0 rebound per game as the Bears won the 52nd District championship and advanced to the 13th Region Tournament finals. Middlesboro senior point guard Jabari Kyle averaged 16 points per game for the Jackets.

The remainder of the all-region squad includes:

First team:

Matt Cromer — South Laurel

Jordan Akal — Harlan

Reed Sheppard — North Laurel

Connor Robinson — Clay County

Taylor Spurlock — Harlan County

Jabari Kyle — Middlesboro

Jevonte Turner — Knox Central

Jacob Curry — Clay County

Cole Kelley — North Laurel

Brett Norvell — South Laurel

Second team:

Caleb Rose — Williamsburg

Matthew Taylor — Corbin

Slaht Hunter — Williamsburg

London Stephney — Bell County

Cameron Burnett — Bell County

Evan Langdon — Clay County

Max Burd — Lynn Camp

Shawn Vaughn — Barbourville

Ryan Davidson — North Laurel

Jacob Hall — Oneida Baptist

Trey Brock — Middlesboro

Senior academic all-region

Barbourville — Dylan Bingham, Austin Grubb, J.T. Hall and Joseph Smith

Bell County — Jonathan Wilson

Clay County — Jakob Begley, Jacob Curry and Evan Langdon

Corbin — Alex Byrley, Cole Hicks, Matthew Taylor, Ethan Wine and Caden Worley

Harlan County — Taylor Spurlock and Jacob Wilson

Jackson County — Cameron Parrott and Logan Rose

Knox Central — Jacob Abner and Zach Patterson

Middlesboro — Jabari Kyle

North Laurel — Noah Black, Isaiah Elmore, Cole Kelley and Jimmy Storm.

Red Bird — Austin Napier and Adolphe Onusumba

South Laurel — Jace Bowling, Ford Breeding, Alex Hostetler, Brett Norvell and Fischer Proffitt

Williamsburg — Tate Fields, Slaht Hunter, Caleb Rose and Caleb Young