HHS academic team advances to state

Published 1:54 pm Friday, March 13, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Members of the Harlan High School Academic team will be traveling to Louisville, Kentucky to compete in the Kentucky Governor’s Cup Academic Team competition.

Top teams and individuals competing in Region 13 advance to state competition to be held in Louisville, Kentucky. Region 13 consists of the following schools; Barbourville, Bell County, Clay County, Corbin, Harlan County, Harlan High, Knox Central, Leslie, Lynn Camp, Middlesboro, Oneida Baptist Institute, Pineville, and Whitley.

The overall regional winner was Corbin with 40 points. Finishing in Second place was Middlesboro tallying 28 points, followed by Clay County, Harlan High, and Bell County in Third, Fourth, and Fifth respectively. Oneida Baptist Institute was awarded the Hume Sportsmanship Award.

Email newsletter signup

Harlan High School Future Problem Solving team’s Second place finish sends team members, Lucy Bryson, John Mark Bryson, Shane Lindsey, Story Miller, Ashton West, and Coach Pat Bryson to the highest level of state competition.

Placing Second place in Composition, Senior Lauren Nunez will be joined in Louisville, Kentucky by Bryson Lee and Tamanna Sajnani who finished fourth and fifth in Language Arts and Math respectively. Harlan County High School students Emerson Johnson and Edmund Dye finished 4 th and 5 th in Math and Social Studies.

First, second and third place Region 13 awards include:

• Quick Recall: First place – Middlesboro; second place – Corbin; third place – Bell County.

• Future Problem Solving: First place – Corbin; second place — Harlan; third place – Bell County.

• Math: First place – Aaron Johnson (Corbin); second place — Jaden Kim (Oneida Baptist Institute); third place – Sarah Pederson (Corbin).

• Science: First place – Gerard Nagel (Middlesboro); second place — Emily Whittle (Clay); third place – Jaden Kim (Oneida Baptist Institute).

• Social Studies: First place – Andrew Kelley (Middlesboro); second place — Chesney Jacobs (Corbin); third place – Dylan Wilson (Bell).

• Language Arts: First place – Andrew Kelley (Middlesboro); second place — Nate Muncy (Middlesboro); third place – Alyssa Mullins (Middlesboro).

• Arts/Humanities: First place – Chesney Jacobs (Corbin); second place — Sarah Pederson (Corbin); third place – Isabella Sester (Clay).

• Composition: First place – Ashton Farmer (Clay); second place — Lauren Nunez (Harlan); third place – Jay Hollingsworth (Bell).