Black Bears well represented on All Area 9 teams

Published 2:50 pm Friday, January 10, 2020

Harlan County High School was well represented at every level of the All Area 9 teams announced last week, led by coach Ryan Vitatoe, who was named boys coach of the year after leading the Bears to another area title.

Daniel Joseph, Matthew Yeary, Zack Carmical, Logan Hensley and Lucas Epperson were named to the boys squad, while Peyton Lunsford, Caitlin Rice and Cadance Ferguson were selected to the girls squad.

“I’m very happy for these kids. They have worked hard to represent our team and school. I’m so proud of each of them,” Vitatoe said. “Success isn’t easy, and this group put in the work to ensure they would be successful. We emphasize the importance of team focus, but I’m happy for each of the kids who earned this honor. They have worked very hard for it.”

High school boys

Harlan County — Daniel Joseph, Matthew Yeary, Zack Carmical, Logan Hensley and Lucas Epperson.

Middlesboro — Ozzy Norris and Brenden Delph.

Letcher Central — Javier Polly and Matt Morris.

Johnson Central — Isaiah May.

High school girls

Harlan County — Peyton Lunsford, Caitlin Rice and Cadance Ferguson.

Middlesboro — Mallory James, Grace Rose, Katelyn Delk, Kirsten Keith and Kennadi Larew.

Leslie County — Caroline Buckle.

Johnson Central — Kelci Blair.

Boys reserve

Harlan County — Bredy Daniels (runner of the year) and Jody Summers.

Letcher Central — Jacob Smith

Girls reserve

Harlan County — Peyton Griffin (runner of the year) and Kiki Dean.

Letcher Central — Miracle Jenkins.

Middle school boys

Harlan County —Nazareth Sanchez (runner of the year), Bradley Brock, Kaden Boggs and Seth Coogle.

Middlesboro — Aiden Larew and Ike Gilly.

Harlan — Dylan Cox.

Leslie County — Luke Collett.

Letcher Central — Nathan Kiser and Grant Barto.

Middle school girls

Harlan County — Kaydie Coots and Mary Gross.

Johnson Central — Emily Triplett.

Harlan Christian School — Olivia Kelly (runner of the year)

Middlesboro — Hannah Fleet.

Letcher Central — Emilee Jensen.

Elementary boys

Harlan County — Tanner Daniels, DaShaun Smith, Luther Gross and Trey Creech.