Finalists named for Community Scholarship Banquet

Published 9:41 am Tuesday, April 9, 2019

Finalists have been named for some of the scholarships to be awarded during the Harlan County Community Scholarship Banquet on April 29.

Various individuals and organizations will present scholarships during the banquet at the Harlan Center, beginning at 6:30 p.m.

“This is an event we look forward to each year,” said Harlan County Schools Superintendent Brent Roark, who serves as president of the fund for 2019. “It allows us to recognize the outstanding achievements of some of the best and brightest students in the Harlan Independent School District and the Harlan County School District. The banquet allows family and friends to gather and support the scholarship recipients. It also allows various groups a great venue in which to publicly honor their recipients.”

Tickets are $15 each and should be purchased by April 22 at the Harlan Enterprise, Harlan High School, Harlan County High School or Cumberland Elementary School. The cost of the ticket covers the meal only. It is not a fundraiser for the scholarship fund.

Finalists for scholarships announced to date are:

Harlan County Community Scholarships, Harlan County Soil Conservation District and Bianchi Family Scholarships

Harlan High School: Brady Adkins, Cassidy Foster, T.J. Hensley, Kilian Dane Ledford and Hunter McCauley.

Harlan County High School: Rhileigh Alred, Erika Creech, Janice Dean, Benjamin Lewis, Phebe McHargue, Abagail Middleton, Luke Parker and Kylie Royce.

J. Clark Metcalfe Scholarship

Harlan High School: John Brady Brock and Emersyn Leigh Noah.

Harlan County High School: Jonathon Paul Wilder.

Robert E. Frazier Academic Scholarships and the Frazier Financial Assistance Scholarships

Harlan County High School: Emily Collett, Erika Creech, Devyn Shoemaker, Makayla Whitaker, Jonathon Paul Wilder and Kylie Royce.

Anyone wishing to present a scholarship during the banquet should provide program information as early as possible, but no later than the end of the day on April 22. To schedule to participate, contact Brent Roark or Jeff Phillips at 606-573-4330 or C.D. Morton at 573-8700 as soon as possible.

The community scholarships have been awarded since 1983. The scholarships are made possible by a host of generous individuals, groups and others who fund them annually.

Tax deductible donations of any amount are accepted at any time and can be mailed to Harlan County Community Scholarship Fund, H. Ken Jones, Treasurer, 106 South Cumberland Avenue, Harlan, KY 40831.