Harlan County NHS inducts 57 members

Published 11:23 am Tuesday, October 24, 2017

In a ceremony marked by the traditional lighting of candles, the Harlan County High School Chapter of the National Honor Society inducted 57 new members.

“The inductees tonight are a special group, recognized for their academic achievement and attention to community service, leadership, character and scholarship.” said Anna Carruba, sponsor of the chapter at HCHS.

To be considered for membership, students must achieve a weighted grade point average of 3.5 or above, a standard that is higher that the standard set nationally. This is an elite group of scholars and role models.

Email newsletter signup

The Harlan County High School chapter has been active since 2009. Each year the chapter sponsors several service projects for the school and community which in the last few years have included Harlan County soldiers serving overseas, Christ’s Hands, Empty Stocking Fund, Angel Tree, Tri-City Easter Egg hunt and several individual projects.

The National Honor Society ranks as one of the oldest and most prestigious national organizations for high school students. There are chapters in more than 16,000 high schools and, since 1921; millions of students have been selected for membership.

Inductees from the Class of 2018 and 2019 are: Rhileigh Alred, Cali Asher, Kathryn Bailey, Elizabeth Ball, Katelyn Bates, Emily Beasor, Julia Bennett, Madison Blanton, Emily Bryant, Mahalah Bundy, Amanda Caudill, Emily Collett, Brooklyn Collins, Cheyenne Coogle, Erika Creech, Angel Davenport, Janice Dean, Hannah Edwards, Elijah Estep, Lindsay Fields, Katie Graham, Jasmine Grubbs, Cody Hall, Katelyn Hensley, Garry Henson, Meghan Howard, Katelyn Johnson, Taylor Kelp, Allyson Kohnle, Joshua Lee, Benjamin Lewis, Ben Lewis, Kerrynton Lewis, Kaylee Major, Phebe McHargue, Elaina McKnight, Abagail Middleton, Reanna Middleton, Camerynn Owens, Hunter Owens, Luke Parker, Kandra Patterson, Marisa Powell, Kylie Royce, Nicholas Saylor, Devyn Shoemaker, Matthew Simpson, Michael Simpson, Gabrielle Snyder, Stephen Snyder, TC Somersall, Abigail Stephens, Breann Turner, Shaun Warren, Malia Williams and Makayla Zehner.